Astro Comp update

Just a quick post to remind everyone that the Astrophotography Competition closes this Friday 11th October. With a couple of dreary nights ahead, it might be a good time to hunker down and do some last minute processing of those images you have taken lately. Oh and you didn’t hear it from me, but Friday night is looking promising, so you may have the opportunity to do some last last minute photography and get those images to me as soon as you can.

So to get you inspired, a little story I want to share with you. I have just been away for 3 weeks overseas and in that whole time I did not see a single star. I know! Sad huh? A combination of overcast weather and extreme light pollution, certainly makes you appreciate that even though we live in a city, we can still get a decent view of the night sky here in Melbourne. I did have a great holiday though and managed to see plenty of lights and I am quite pleased with this shot. The little I have learnt from my foray into Astrophotography certainly helped with this night-time shot.

Eiffel Tower at night from a moving bus!

Eiffel Tower at night from a moving bus!

With this much artificial light, no wonder we can’t see the stars! One guess as to where I got to spend 3 weeks. Well, someone has to do it…

But that’s not the inspiring bit. I got home to Melbourne late Monday night to stars in the sky which was a welcome sight. Good to see they were still there and it still fascinates me how much they move and change from week to week, let alone over a month. I was home just on sunset last night, the skies were clear and the crescent Moon was sitting right next to Venus under the constellation of Scorpius, so I raced out to my back porch and spent a quick half hour playing around with my DSLR on a very dodgy tripod and came up with this;

Crescent Moon and Venus through the trees.

Crescent Moon and Venus through the trees.

I love the way you can see the earthshine on the dark side of the Moon. Not bad for a quick snap or two. Hope that inspires you to get your camera out pronto.

Image details:

Camera Canon EOS 700D DSLR

Lens 17-85mm

Shutter speed 4 sec

ISO Speed 800

Focal length 50mm

Mode Manual

Post production: Single image. Brightness and contrast settings altered in Digital Photo Professional

If you are interested in knowing more about light pollution, investigating light pollution in your area and even doing something about it so we can see more of the night sky, the International Dark-Sky Association has some great resources.

Leave a Reply

